Skip to content

About Us

Welcome to St. Julian’s Primary School

St. Julian’s Primary School is a community primary school situated in the north east of the city of Newport.

The school opened in 2009, following the amalgamation of the infant and junior schools, which had been established in 1952. A purpose built nursery was constructed in the grounds in the 1970s. The school has a large site with a playing field, four playgrounds and a sports-cage. The school is one of the largest primary schools in Newport, with over 650 pupils on roll, from a socially diverse catchment area. Mr Mansfield, the Headteacher, leads a team of hard-working and dedicated staff who go above and beyond to help our learners succeed.

Due to the recognised good practice at the school, we host a range of workshops and development programmes for staff and teachers across the region on behalf of the Education Achievement Service. We are also a Welsh Government Professional Learning Pioneer School and Digital Pioneer School, and have played a key role in developing the new curriculum for schools in Wales.

School Statistics

Pupils on Roll:

699

Free School Meal Average:

24.2%

Teachers:

25

Attendance:

92.5%

Budget Per Pupil:

£4499

Support Category:

GREEN

Head Teacher and Deputy Head Teachers

  • Meet
    Mr.
    Mr. L. Mansfield
    Head Teacher
  • Meet
    Mr.
    Mr. J. Jones
    Deputy Headteacher
  • Meet
    Mrs.
    Mrs. S. Hill
    Deputy Headteacher

What the Parents Say…

History of The St. Julian’s Area

St. Julians, a district in Newport, Wales, derives its name from Saint Julius of Caerleon, a Roman-era martyr. Historically, the area was notable for St. Julian’s House, established in 1480 by Sir George Herbert on the site of a former chapel dedicated to Saint Julius. This mansion remained with the Herbert family until the early 18th century and underwent various transformations before its demolition in 1980. Today, the legacy of the Herberts persists in local street names; the inter-war estate streets are named after members of the Firbank family, who owned the land from 1869 to 1926, while the post-war St. Julian’s estate features roads named after famous painters.

Translate »